Not even a script kiddie

Zeroxon
8 years ago

Hey everyone. I’m very new to the world of programming/coding/hacking. I’m a writer, but technology has always interested me. I’m teaching myself the basic languages via codeacademy, and I plan on slugging my way through the challenges on this site to learn more. I’d appreciate any information or resources that you think I should know about. Hopefully, I’ll be someone giving advice to other people soon. Alas, we all start somewhere. Until then, I’m out to do my nightly writing.

-Zeroxon

24replies
8voices
378views
tl0tr
8 years ago

@Zeroxon

Codecademy is a good place to learn the basic of HTML, CSS and JS. You can also check the w3school website as well to learn more.

Elhitch
8 years ago

Greetings, Zeroxon!

It is very difficult for somebody new to the whole IT non-sense to understand why is coding needed for the so called “penetration testing”, “ethical hacking” and why the heck are such fancy words used together. Well, the answer is: in the real world, you need to disassemble something to know how it’s built. That’s called reverse engineering and, believe it or not, exists as a field of interest in IT as well. However, in the world of computers, things are the other way around: To “hack” into something, you need to know how it’s built. In fact, as you are a writer, you might know that, in the past. “to hack something” was used as “to understand something well”. Therefore, you’ll need to learn how to code / create programs in order to set on your journey through hacking.