help on SQLi level 1?

SQLi 1

jasonmonag
6 years ago

Im not sure if this is a spoiler because i dont really know how close i am to being correct.

I started out by just entering “x'” into the username field and it returned the following syntax error:
SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = ‘x’‘ AND password = ’‘
I was pretty happy with that almost immediately returning the names of the 'users’ list and the ‘username’ and ‘password’ values, and thought it was easy from there but my solution wasn’t working. I tried entering the following:
x';UPDATE users SET username = ‘x’, password = ‘x’;
I realized that this might not work because i didnt know what to use for the WHERE condition, sorry im relatively new to this stuff, and was wondering if i just need to find a way to update all username/password values instead of using a condition, or if i need to do something else completely with my code. Also, if there is a way to update the username /password values for all accounts, something like this
x';UPDATE users SET username = ‘x’, password = ‘x’ WHERE username = *;
please let me know how, im sorry im not well versed in SQL and am just trying to get more into it.
Thank you! any help is appreciated.

8replies
5voices
1,201views
jasonmonag
6 years ago

i also tried using
WHERE username = ‘admin
but that didnt work either, will keep attempting

jasonmonag
6 years ago

also tried using

x';UPDATE users SET username = ‘x’, password = ‘x’ WHERE username LIKE ‘a%

which also did not work

jayreap
6 years ago

You’re pretty close, just think about what you have to inject to get throught.
This might help you https://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_injection.asp ;)

jasonmonag
6 years ago

I was actually open to that link as I saw your reply, im still not sure what i’m missing but ill keep attempting for now.

jasonmonag
6 years ago

just got it, way simpler than i thought haha, still confused as to why my original solution was not working?

Smyler [WHGhost]
6 years ago