Hello World! New member here

Webmatt96
3 years ago

I’m Jason. I work on the policy side of Cyber. I supervise patch management, SCAP and STIG compliance, and HBSS. I hope to build my skillset in Offensive security. I’m new to this side of things and am hungry to learn all I can. Also, I am looking forward to getting to know everyone here.

6replies
2voices
314views
mortfeus
3 years ago | edited 3 years ago

Hey, nice to meet you Jason. But if you work in SCAP and STIG why this side is new for you ? I mean this side is so much easier that SCAP or STIG. Are you lying to us Jason ? ;)

Webmatt96
3 years ago

Lol, no. I’m not lying. So, as you may know, SCAP scanning and STIG compliance is all about system configuration. I have almost zero experience in pentesting. I have actually never attempted to pentest a system before. I’ve read up on many tools and have looked at Kali and Parrot OS before but I have had no successful system penetrations. I have only read about it and studied it but never practiced it. I hope to change that.

As you say, “This side is so much easier”. I hope so, I’ve alwas thought that looking at Cyber from a policy/IA perspective means that you have to consider everything. If you’re a pentester then you only need to find one jinx in the armor. One of the things I hope to research is how difficult it would be to pentest a fully STIG'ed system -vs- an out of the box configuration. I can also state with confidence that learning how to STIG a system has taught me many things about computing, in general, and vulnerabilities specifically. I am hoping to leverage this when I reach the higher challenges that more closly resemble a real world situation.

mortfeus